Meet the 2017 Newbery, Caldecott and Printz award winners "The Girl Who Drank the Moon" won the 2017 John Newbery Medal. (American Library Association)
Meet the 2017 Newbery, Caldecott and Printz award winners

Assign to Google Classroom

Have you ever been where the wild things are? Taken a ride on the Polar Express? Or taken a walk with Madeline and her classmates in two straight lines? Have you hung out with Mr. Popper's penguins or Johnny Tremain? Or a mouse named Despereaux?
If so, you've read a Newbery or Caldecott-winning book. And you know just how magical children's literature can be.
Now, the list of award-winning books just got longer. So reports Thu Huong-Ha for Quartz.
The American Library Association has revealed its 2017 awards. They are awarded for the top books for children and young adults. The announcement is like the Academy Awards. Instead of awards for movies, however, these are given for children's book authors and illustrators. It is an acknowledgment that American librarians stand behind the work of a new stable of imaginative and emotionally powerful books. These are for young readers.
The John Newbery Medal for the most outstanding contribution to children's literature was awarded to "The Girl Who Drank the Moon." It was written by Kelly Barnhill. The book was a New York Times bestseller. It tells the story of a young girl. She was raised by a good witch, a pocket-sized dragon and a poetry-writing monster. The girl must contend with the magic within her. She uses it to help protect those she holds most dear.
The Newbery Medal is given each year. It is awarded by the American Library Association. It first was given in 1922. The Newbery Medal was named after an 18th-century English bookseller. He was John Newbery. He is considered to be the father of children's literature. Newbery is responsible for publishing one of the first collections of Mother Goose rhymes. He also published other whimsical children's stories. These turned children's publishing into a viable industry. It was profitable.

Newbery Honors went to "Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life," written by Ashley Bryan; "The Inquisitor's Tale: Or, Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog" by Adam Gidwitz, and "Wolf Hollow" by Lauren Wolk.
The Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children is named for a British artist and illustrator. He helped make illustrated books for children popular during the Victorian era. That was mostly during the second half of the 1800s. This year's medal was awarded to "Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michael Basquiat." It was written and illustrated by Javaka Steptoe. The book tells the story of the future street artist in New York through artwork. The artwork echoes Basquiat's vibrant, collage-like creations. Caldecott Honors went to "Leave Me Alone!", illustrated and written by Vera Brosgol; "Freedom in Congo Square", illustrated by R. Gregory Christie and written by Carole Boston Weatherford; "Du Iz Tak?", illustrated and written by Carson Ellis; and "They All Saw a Cat", illustrated and written by Brendan Wenzel.
Two other familiar names are among those emblazoned on awards given out. The Coretta Scott King Book Awards are named after the American author and civil rights activist and wife of Martin Luther King. They honor African-American authors and illustrators of children's books. One of the awards in her name, the King Author Book award, was given to "March: Book Three". Third in the graphic novel trilogy about John Lewis' young life, the book was written by John Lewis and Andrew Aydin and illustrated by Nate Powell. As SmartNews reports, the trilogy has already won a number of notable awards and is being used in school curricula to teach students about the Civil Rights movement. "March: Book Three" also snagged the prestigious Michael L. Printz award for young adult literature.
Another award is named after Laura Ingalls Wilder. Her Little House books changed the genre forever in the 1930s. The award honors an author or illustrator who has, like Wilder, made a significant and lasting contribution to children's literature. This year's winner is Nikki Grimes. She has written 45 books for children and young adults. Many of them bring the African-American experience to life for kids.
This year's winners just go to show that it's a wide world for young readers.

Filed Under:  
Assigned 49 times
Why is the “father of children’s literature” from England?
Write your answers in the comments section below

  • kadenw531-
    2/02/2017 - 11:22 a.m.

    A book medal?

  • cadenb-
    2/02/2017 - 11:23 a.m.

    I love reading the books that get awards because they take you on a good journey

  • haylieb2-
    2/02/2017 - 11:24 a.m.

    because it was made from an English publisher

  • miked123457-
    2/02/2017 - 11:27 a.m.

    I read most of these books.

  • lucasr-
    2/02/2017 - 11:27 a.m.

    Its crazy how tween tribune finds the coolest articles for us to read.

  • baileyw-
    2/02/2017 - 11:31 a.m.

    I think that all these medals are cool. I want to write a story and have it win a medal some day.

  • camilat-
    2/02/2017 - 11:32 a.m.

    I would really like to read book it sounds very interesting the girl that drank the moon the dragon seems cool

  • jackg1005-
    2/03/2017 - 10:35 a.m.

    The “father of children’s literature” is from England because he is English.

  • masonl7004-
    2/03/2017 - 10:42 a.m.

    I don't know so I'm gonna do some quick research

  • adelinab2-
    2/03/2017 - 10:51 a.m.

    I really want to read The Girl Who Drank The Moon!

Take the Quiz Leave a comment